Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 7 November 2022

The gluteus minimus is a fan-shaped muscles which lies deep to the gluteus medius muscle.

The gluteal region consists of two groups of muscles:

  • Deep group: small muscles which mainly laterally rotate the femur at the hip joint. These include the piriformis, obturator internus, gemellus superior, gemellus inferior, and quadratus femoris.
  • Superficial group: larger muscles which cause abduction and extension of the femur at the hip joint. These include the gluteus maximus, gluteus medius, gluteus minimis and the tensor fascia latae.


  • Dorsal ilium between inferior and anterior gluteal lines
  • Edge of greater sciatic notch


  •  Anterior surface of greater trochanter


  •  Abducts hip
  • Medially rotates hip


  •  Superior gluteal nerve: L4,L5,S1

Blood Supply

  •  Superior gluteal artery