Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 7 November 2022

The tensor fasciae latae is the most anteriorly located muscle within the superficial group of gluteal muscles.

The gluteal region consists of two groups of muscles:

  • Deep group: small muscles which mainly laterally rotate the femur at the hip joint. These include the piriformis, obturator internus, gemellus superior, gemellus inferior, and quadratus femoris.
  • Superficial group: larger muscles which cause abduction and extension of the femur at the hip joint. These include the gluteus maximus, gluteus medius, gluteus minimis and the tensor fascia latae.


  • Anterior superior illiac spine
  • Outer Edge of illiac crest


  •  Illiotibial band (which runs to superolateral aspect of tibia)


  • Hip abduction
  • Hip medial rotation
  • Hip flexion (assists)
  • Stabilises hip and knee by placing tension in illiotibial band


  •  Superior gluteal nerve: L4,L5,S1

Blood Supply

  • Superior gluteal artery
  • Lateral circumflex femoral artery