Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 7 November 2022

The quadratus femoris is one of the muscles of the deep group of muscles within the gluteal region. It is a flat quadrangular shaped muscle, and is the most inferiorly located deep gluteal muscle.

The gluteal region consists of two groups of muscles:

  • Deep group: small muscles which mainly laterally rotate the femur at the hip joint. These include the piriformis, obturator internus, gemellus superior, gemellus inferior, and quadratus femoris.
  • Superficial group: larger muscles which cause abduction and extension of the femur at the hip joint. These include the gluteus maximus, gluteus medius, gluteus minimis and the tensor fascia latae.


  • Lateral margin of obturator ring (above Ischial tuberosity)


  • Quadrate tubercle
  • Intertrochanteric crest of proximal posterior femur


  • Lateral rotation of hip
  • Assists adduction of hip


  • Quadratus femoris branch of nerve to the Quadratus femoris and inferior gemellus: L5, S1

Blood Supply

  • Inferior gluteal artery
  • Medial circumflex femoral artery