Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 23 November 2023

The multifidus muscle is one of the transversospinales muscles, which are a group of deep muscles within the back which lie deep to the erector spinae. There are three major muscle groups within the transversospinales: semispinalis, multifidus and rotares.


  • Sacrum
  • Posterior superior iliac spine
  • Mammillary processes of L1-5
  • Transverse processes of T1-12
  • Articular processes of C3-7


  • Spinous processes of C2-L5


  • Postural and dynamic support of the vertebral column


  • Dorsal rami C3- L5