Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 27 November 2022

The latissimus dorsi muscle is one of the superficial muscles of the back. The superficial group of back muscles attach the axial skeleton to the upper part of the appendicular skeleton, and may also be referred to as the appendicular group of back muscles.

The superficial group of back muscles includes the following muscles:

  • Trapezius
  • Latissimus dorsi
  • Rhomboid major
  • Rhomboid minor
  • Levator scapulae


  • Spinous processes of T7-L5
  • Sacrum
  • Iliac crest
  • Ribs 10-12


  •  Biccipital groove of humerus


  • Extends humerus
  • Depress scapula
  • Adducts humerus
  • Medially rotates humerus


  • Thoracodorsal nerve: C6-8

Blood Supply

Thoracodorsal branch of subscapular artery