Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 18 November 2022

The tibialis anterior is one of the muscles within the anterior compartment of the leg. Collectively, the muscles of the anterior compartment act to extend the toes, dorsiflex the ankle and invert the foot.

The leg is comprised of anterior, lateral and posterior compartments.

The anterior compartment consists of four muscles:

  • Tibialis anterior
  • Extensor hallucis longus
  • Extensor digitorum longus
  • Fibularis/peroneus tertius


  • Lateral tibial condyle and 2/3 shaft
  • Interosseous membrane


  • Medial and inferior medial cuneiform
  • Base of 1st metatarsal


  • Dorsiflexion of foot
  • Inversion of foot
  • Support of medial foot arch


  •  Deep fibular nerve: L4,L5

Blood Supply

  • Anterior tibial artery