Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 7 November 2022

The gracilis muscle is one of the 6 muscles of the medial compartment of the thigh. The gracilis is the most superficial muscle in this compartment, and takes a vertical course from the ischiopubic ramus to the medial proximal tibial shaft where it inserts in between the insertion points of the sartorius and the semitendinosus muscles. This collective insertion is known as the pes anserinus.

The medial compartment of the thigh includes the following 6 muscles:

  • Pectineus
  • Gracilis
  • Adductor longus
  • Adductor brevis
  • Adductor magnus
  • Obturator externus


  • Lower margin of pubic bone


  • Superomedial shaft of tibia in between the sartorius and semitendinosus insertions.


  • Adducts hip
  • Flexes knee
  • Medially rotates knee when flexed


  • Obturator nerve: L2, L3, L4

Blood Supply

  • Obturator artery
  • Medial circumflex femoral artery