Posterior Inferior Iliac Spine

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Posterior Inferior Iliac Spine

The structure indicated is the posterior inferior iliac spine of the pelvic bone.

The pelvic bone consists of three parts:

  1. Ilium
  2. Ischium
  3. Pubis

The posterior part of the ilium consists of two bony spines. Superiorly is the posterior superior iliac spine, and inferiorly is the posterior inferior iliac spine. Anteriorly is the anterior superior iliac spine and the anterior inferior iliac spine.

Learn more about the anatomy of the pelvic bones in this tutorial.