Common Hepatic Artery

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Common Hepatic Artery

The structure indicated is the common hepatic artery.

The common hepatic artery is one of three branches of the celiac trunk and is the first anterior branch that arises from the abdominal aorta. The abdominal aorta consists of anterior, posterior, and lateral branches. There are three anterior branches which supply the foregut, midgut and hindgut structures these are as follows:

  1. Celiac trunk – supplies foregut
  2. Superior mesenteric artery – supplies midgut
  3. Inferior mesenteric artery – supplies hindgut

The celiac trunk arises from the abdominal aorta at the level of the upper part of the first lumbar vertebra. It gives rises to three branches:

  1. Common hepatic artery
  2. Left gastric artery
  3. Splenic artery

The common hepatic artery divides into two branches: the hepatic artery proper and the gastroduodenal artery.

The hepatic artery proper divides into the right and left hepatic arteries.

The gastroduodenal artery terminates by dividing into the right gastro-omental artery (right gastro-epiploic) and the superior pancreaticoduodenal artery.

Learn all about the branches of the celiac trunk in this anatomy tutorial.