Tibialis Anterior

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Tibialis Anterior

The muscle highlighted is the tibialis anterior muscle.

The tibialis anterior is one of the four muscles of the anterior compartment of the leg. The muscles of the leg consist of three compartments:

  • Anterior
  • Posterior
  • Lateral

In the anterior compartment are the four following muscles:

  • Tibialis anterior
  • Extensor hallucis longus
  • Extensor digitorum longus
  • Fibularis tertius

The muscles of the anterior compartment of the leg serve to dorsiflex the ankle joint, extend the toes and invert the foot, and they are supplied by the deep fibular (peroneal) nerve.

Origin: Upper two-thirds and lateral condyle of the tibia

Insertion: Medial cuneiform and first metatarsal of the foot

Innervation: Deep fibular nerve

Action: Dorsiflexion and inversion of the foot

Learn more about the anatomy of the leg muscles in this tutorial!