Superior Pubic Ramus

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Superior Pubic Ramus

The structure indicated is the superior pubic ramus.

The pelvic bone consists of three components:

  • Ilium
  • Pubis
  • Ischium

The pubis is the anterior and inferior part of the pubic bone and consists of a body connected to two branches (rami) – a superior ramus and an inferior ramus. Several muscles of the abdomen and thigh attach to the superior pubic ramus.

The superior pubic ramus projects posteriorly and laterally from the body and joins the ilium and ischium. The superior pubic ramus consists of two parts: a medial part (the body of the pubis) and a lateral part. The medial part consists of two surfaces (anterior, posterior) and three borders (upper, medial, lateral). The lateral part consists of three surfaces (superior, inferior, posterior).

The pectineal line (pecten pubis) is a ridge on top of the superior ramus. Combined with the arcuate line, this forms the iliopectineal line. Anteriorly, this line is continuous with the pubic crest.

Learn more about the anatomy of the bones of the pelvis in this tutorial