Rectus Capitis Posterior Minor

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Rectus Capitis Posterior Minor

The structure indicated is the rectus capitis posterior minor muscle.

The rectus capitis posterior minor is one of 4 muscles which make up the suboccipital group of back muscles. This group of small muscles are located at the base of the occipital bone in the superior cervical region posteriorly. The four suboccipital muscles are:

  1. Rectus capitis posterior major
  2. Rectus capitis posterior minor
  3. Obliquus capitis inferior
  4. Obliquus capitis superior

Origin:  spinous process of atlas vertebrae CI

Insertion: occipital bone inferior to nuchal line

Innervation: posterior ramus of CI

Action: Extension of head


Learn more about the muscles of the back in this tutorial.