Pubic Tubercle

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Pubic Tubercle

The structure indicated is the pubic tubercle.

The pelvic bone consists of three components:

  • Ilium
  • Pubis
  • Ischium

The pubis is the anterior and inferior part of the pubic bone and consists of a body connected to two branches (rami) – a superior ramus and an inferior ramus. Several muscles of the abdomen and thigh attach to the superior pubic ramus. The pubic tubercle serves as a point of attachment for the medial aspect of the inguinal ligament.

Learn more about the bones of the pelvis in this anatomy tutorial.