Occipital Lobe

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Occipital Lobe

The occipital lobe is highlighted in purple. There are four main lobes of the brain:

  • frontal
  • parietal
  • temporal
  • occipital

The occipital lobe is responsible for processing visual information, and is often referred to as the visual cortex. It is the smallest of the four lobes and is located posteriorly in the cranial cavity, underneath the occipital bone.

Learn more about the anatomy of the brain in this video.