Nasal Bone

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Nasal Bone

The structure indicated is the nasal bone of the facial skeleton.

The skull consists of the calvaria (the part which contains the brain), and the facial skeleton (viscerocranium) which forms the anterior and inferior part of the skull.

The facial skeleton consists of the following bones:

  • Nasal bones
  • Lacrimal bones
  • Palatine bones
  • Zygomatic bones
  • Maxillae bones
  • Inferior nasal conchae
  • Vomer

There are two paired nasal bones. The nasal bone has four articulations:

  1. Frontal bone (superiorly)
  2. Ethmoid bone (posteriorly)
  3. Maxillae (laterally)
  4. Nasal bone (medially)

Learn more about the anatomy of the facial skeleton in this tutorial.