Inferior Oblique Muscle of the Eye

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Inferior Oblique Muscle of the Eye

The structure indicated is the inferior oblique muscle of the eye.

This muscle is one of six muscles that are involved in the movements of the eye. The muscles which move the eye are referred to as the extraocular muscles, these include:

  • Superior rectus
  • Inferior rectus
  • Lateral rectus
  • Medial rectus
  • Superior oblique
  • Inferior oblique

The oculomotor nerve innervates the superior, inferior and medial rectus muscles as well as the inferior oblique muscle.

The trochlear nerve innervates the superior oblique muscle

The abducent nerve innervates the lateral rectus muscle.

When the inferior oblique muscle is injured through a 3rd nerve palsy of the inferior division of the oculomotor nerve.

Origin: Orbital surface of maxilla, lateral to lacrimal groove

Insertion: laterally on eyeball – deep to lateral rectus muscle

Action: extorsion, elevation, abduction

Innervation: Inferior division of oculomotor nerve