Frontal Bone

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Frontal Bone

The structure indicated is the frontal bone of the skull

The frontal bone is one of 8 bones which form the calvaria (the part of the skull which contains the brain). The calvaria consists of:

  • 2 parietal bones
  • 2 temporal bones
  • Frontal bone
  • Sphenoid bone
  • Ethmoid bone
  • Occipital bone

The frontal bone consists of three parts:

  1. Squamous part
  2. Orbital part
  3. Nasal part

The frontal bone articulates with the following bones:

  • Sphenoid bones
  • Ethmoid bone
  • Parietal bones
  • Nasal bones
  • Maxillae bones
  • Lacrimal bones
  • Zygomatic bones

The point at which the frontal bones meet the parietal bones in the midline is called bregma – this is where the coronal suture is intersected by the sagittal suture.

The point at which the frontal bones meet the two nasal bones is known as nasion.

Learn more about the bones of the skull in this tutorial.