First Metatarsal

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

First Metatarsal

The structure indicated is the first metatarsal bone of the foot.

The foot contains three groups of bones:

  1. Tarsals
  2. Metatarsals
  3. Phalanges

There are 7 tarsal bones, and 5 metatarsals. The metatarsals are numbered from 1 to 5 from medial to lateral, with the first metatarsal belonging to that of the great toe (hallux) and the 5th metatarsal belonging to that of the little toe.

The metatarsals consist of the following parts:

  • Base
  • Shaft
  • Head

Learn more about the anatomy of the bones of the foot in this anatomy tutorial.