Capitate Bone

Capitate Bone

The structure highlighted is the capitate bone of the hand. There are three groups of bones in the hand:
  • Carpal bones (8 in total)
  • Metacarpal bones
  • Phalanges
The carpal bones are separated into two rows:
  • Proximal row
  • Distal row
The capitate bone is located in the distal row of carpal bones. It is the largest of the carpal bones and is located centrally in the wrist. The capitate bone has a “head” which articulates with the scaphoid and lunate bones of the proximal row. Laterally, on the radial side is the trapezoid bone, on medially, on the ulnar side is the hamate bone. The capitate bone has 6 surfaces
  • Dorsal
  • Palmar
  • Superior
  • Inferior
  • Medial
  • Lateral
Learn more about the bones of the hand in this anatomy tutorial.
Capitate Bone