Anterior Inferior Iliac Spine

Author: Dr Peter de Souza
Last modified: 13 December 2020

Anterior Inferior Iliac Spine

The structure indicated is the anterior inferior iliac spine of the pelvic bone.

The pelvic bones consist of three parts:

  1. Ilium
  2. Ischium
  3. Pubis

The anterior part of the ilium consists of two bony spines. Superiorly is the anterior superior iliac spine (ASIS), and inferiorly is the anterior inferior iliac spine. Posteriorly is the posterior superior iliac spine and the posterior inferior iliac spine.

The rectus femoris muscle of the quadriceps group of thigh muscles attaches to the anterior inferior iliac spine, as well as the iliofemoral ligament.

Learn more about the anatomy of the pelvic bones in this anatomy tutorial.